Olympics & Education

Sitting with my wife last night watching the end of another great Olympics competition and thinking to myself, “wow, the USA sure came through once again!”. They won events they were suppose to win & they won some where it was going to be close. The athletes even placed in some events where they weren’t predicted to place! All in all, the competition was fierce and through the difficult tasks and competitions our athletes rose to the challenges and made us all proud.

Our media tends to be critical not only of our athletes at times but our educational system and those people associated within it. We are beginning to slip in giving our youth of today a world class education, the scores indicate we are not competitive, we are no longer winning!

I believe we are winning in so many ways;way more so than in the past. We study how educational systems work in other countries just like so many countries study our system. There is good and bad in all systems but to think our system is “broke” goes too far. We educate ALL KIDS like we never have before! They ALL are learning way more than ever, and we still are producing many top scholars! Our students have better skills that will help them navigate their futures successfully. Test scores are only one slight indicator of our students’ academic abilities; these scores are a snap shot in time, one day of testing, good or bad. The tests cannot measure our students hearts! They cannot measure their passion & creativity! We produce the most well rounded educated students who can work with others collaboratively to solve problems in ways we have never see before. Much like our Olympic athletes they rise up and meet the challenges before them; believing in themselves and one another. Our youth of today and tomorrow will continue to be the leaders of the world in the future, no matter what the media want us to believe.

Go USA!,

About pshepich58

I am married and have one son. I have a black lab. I live in Livonia, Michigan where I am a superintendent of a public school district. I was born and raised in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I attended Central Michigan University for both my undergrad & graduate degrees. My educational career has spanned stops in Clear Lake (Houston) Texas, Scottville, Hart, Custer and currently, Livonia Michigan. I will be starting my 32ndth year in public education this fall, 2014. I am a huge Green Bay Packer's fan; I love the Detroit Tigers, Pistons & Wings. I pull for the CMU Chippewas but am a huge college sports fan that supports the MSU Spartans (where my son is a student).
This entry was posted in Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

