Senseless Tragedies

I have been watching and reading about the latest senseless tragedy that took place in Colorado and like so many others I am left to wonder why these things have to happen. There is no rhyme or reason. Innocent people lost their lives and/or had their lives altered forever; all of us who care are left to contemplate the “why” and to in our own way make sense of this senseless act.

I know from experience a loss like this is a difficult moment to ever forget. I lost someone in a shooting many years ago. A young college student just “lost it” one night and created havoc in a dormitory. My cousin was shot in the back trying to evacuate the other students from the floor. He did not plan for this to happen; he reacted to a situation and put the safety of others before himself and paid the ultimate price. Our family was left dumbfounded and in shock. It is a senseless act that cannot be explained as to “why.” It just “is.” And we are left to make the best sense of it we can and move forward as best we can.

The same will be for those who have lost someone in this tragedy or had someone there who has been traumatized. Senseless acts have no rationale; they just are and those of us who are left behind must do our best to live our lives. It happens all too often… “Bad things happen to good people.” It happens every day in some way or another.

This is where a person’s faith is so necessary and valuable. Faith is the best way to get through a senseless act of violence against those that we love. I am praying for all those involved in this senseless tragedy, praying for them to have strength and compassion for one another. The only way people can get through these tragedies is with the love and support of family & friends.

About pshepich58

I am married and have one son. I have a black lab. I live in Livonia, Michigan where I am a superintendent of a public school district. I was born and raised in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I attended Central Michigan University for both my undergrad & graduate degrees. My educational career has spanned stops in Clear Lake (Houston) Texas, Scottville, Hart, Custer and currently, Livonia Michigan. I will be starting my 32ndth year in public education this fall, 2014. I am a huge Green Bay Packer's fan; I love the Detroit Tigers, Pistons & Wings. I pull for the CMU Chippewas but am a huge college sports fan that supports the MSU Spartans (where my son is a student).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

